These neighbourhood spots offer great food—and an insight into the locals who live there.

What exactly is a neighbourhood restaurant? When this category was dreamed up five years ago, the idea was never that it would recognize the “best” restaurant in a given jurisdiction. Instead, it would celebrate the local haunts that are so vital to a neighbourhood and yet so rarely recognized in major awards categories. There were rules drawn up to reinforce this: no chains, no brand-new spots, and if it’s impossible to simply walk in—sorry, Kissa Tanto—it’s out of luck. The goal is to get places that offer great food, but, more importantly, also offer an insight into the locals who live in that neighbourhood.

Chinatown

★★★★★

Bao Bei 163 Keefer St. bao-bei.ca

★★★★

Pizzeria Farina 915 Main St. pizzeriafarina.com

★★★

Upstairs at Campagnolo  1020 Main St. campagnolorestaurant.ca

★★

Fat Mao Noodles 217 E Georgia St. fatmaonoodles.com

Jade Dynasty 137 E Pender St. facebook.com/JadeDynasty

Downtown

★★★★★

Cinara 350 W Pender St. cinara.ca

★★★★

Royal Dinette 905 Dunsmuir St. royaldinette.ca

★★★

Tableau Bar Bistro  1181 Melville St. tableaubarbistro.com

★★

Café Medina  780 Richards St. medinacafe.com

Heritage Asian Eatery 1108 W Pender St. eatheritage.ca

East Side

★★★★★

Merchant’s Workshop 1590 Commercial Dr. merchantsworkshop.ca

★★★★

Kishimoto  2054 Commercial Dr. kishimotorestaurant.com

★★★

Bistro Wagon Rouge  1869 Powell St. bistrowagonrouge.com

★★

Bows and Arrows 4194 Fraser St. bowsxarrows.ca

Burdock and Co.  2702 Main St. burdockandco.com

Gastown

★★★★★

The Mackenzie Room 415 Powell St. themackenzieroom.com

★★★★

La Mezcaleria  68 E Cordova St. lamezcaleria.ca

★★★

Belgard Kitchen  55 Dunlevy Ave. belgardkitchen.com

★★

Wildebeest 120 W Hastings St. wildebeest.ca

Tuc 60 W Cordova St. tuccraftkitchen.com

North Shore

★★★★★

Terroir Kitchen 2232 Marine Dr., West Vancouver terroirkitchen.com

★★★★

Swad 1734 Marine Dr., West Vancouver swadindiankitchen.ca

★★★

Feast 2423 Marine Dr., West Vancouver feastdining.ca

★★

Maru Korean Bistro 125 2nd St. E, North Vancouver marukoreanbistro.com

Zen Japanese 101-2232 Marine Dr., West Vancouver zenjapanese.ca

Richmond

★★★★★

Gudrun 3500 Moncton St. facebook.com/gudruntastingroom

★★★★

Nine Dishes  9231 Beckwith Rd.

★★★

Cocoru  2140-391 Alexandra Rd. facebook.com/cocoru01

★★

Britannia Brewing  250-12240 Second Ave. britanniasteveston.ca

Lido 4231 Hazelbridge Way

West End

★★★★★

Nook 781 Denman St. nookrestaurant.ca

★★★★

Kingyo 871 Denman St. kingyo-izakaya.ca

★★★

Marutama 780 Bidwell St. marutama.ca

★★

Amici Miei  1114 Denman St. amicimieidenman.com

Damso 867 Denman St.

West Side

★★★★★

L’Ufficio 3687 W 4th Ave. laquercia.ca/lufficio

★★★★

Grapes and Soda  1541 W 6th Ave. grapesandsoda.ca

★★★

Bufala  5395 West Blvd. bufala.ca

★★

Au Comptoir  2278 W 4th Ave. aucomptoir.ca

Oddfish 1889 W 1st Ave. oddfishrestaurant.com

Yaletown

★★★★★

Provence Marinaside 1177 Marinaside Cres. provencemarinaside.ca

★★★★

Bistro Sakana 1123 Mainland St. bistrosakana.com

★★★

Homer Street Cafe and Bar 898 Homer St. homerstreetcafebar.com

★★

House Special 1269 Hamilton St. housespecial.ca

WildTale 1079 Mainland St. wildtale.ca

Restaurant Awards 2018 ▸▸▸