Vancouver Magazine Wine Awards 2011

This year’s competition saw a record number of entries from around the globe. This diversity is found in our list of winning wines, with 13 countries represented in the final results (Georgia included!). B.C. again led the charge with 28 winners, showing that our local heroes have never tasted better. Even with slightly higher price tags, their quality and regional expression is undeniable. The complete list of winners include a wide array of styles and tastes, and shows that you can find value anywhere on the price spectrum. Drink up!

The Judging Process

Our judges were divided into four teams, each with a facilitator. Flights of wine were organized by style and price. Wines were tasted blind on a like-with-like basis. Winners were chosen by consensus; judges collectively decided which wines represented the best quality and value. The four panels united for a playoff of all category winners. Our Best in Show? The DeAngelis Marche Rosso Anghelos IGT 2007.

The Winners

Best in Show

Best Sparkling

Best White Wines

Best Rosé Wines

Best Red Wines

Best Fortified Wines

Best Dessert Wines

The Judges

Camille Blanchard Senior Store Manager, Liberty Wine Merchants

Michelle Bouffard Co-owner, House Wine

Geoff Boyd Director of Bar Development, Joey Restaurant Group

Christina Burridge Drink Editor, Vancouver magazine

Sid Cross Taster, educator, journalist

Mark Davidson Department Head, International Sommelier Guild

Park Heffelfinger Co-owner, Memphis Blues BBQ House

DJ Kearney Chief judge, sommelier, instructor, journalist, consultant

Kurtis Kolt Wine director, journalist, consultant

Judith Lane Food, wine, and travel journalist

Tim Pawsey Food and wine journalist

Barbara Philip MW, BCLDB, and Barbariain Wine Consulting

Iain Philip Senior Wine Instructor, Art Institute of Vancouver

Rhys Pender Owner, Wineplus

Mark Shipway Administrator, WSET wine program, Art Institute of Vancouver

Mark Taylor Owner/sommelier, Cru Restaurant

Andrea Vescovi Sommelier, Blue Water Cafe


Dee Anand, Christine Coletta, Steve Dimond, Rachelle Goudreau, Pat Hake, Kimberley Hall, Roger Maniwa, Celia McBride, Mik Piltz, Julian Scholefield, Tish Thibault

Special thanks to the Vancouver Club for hosting our three-day competition